MAKING CINEMA MATTER

With 25 sites in Paris and Spain, mk2 is the biggest art-house cinema network in France and Cinesur the leading network in Andalusia, south of Spain. Its cinemas in France, which are designed as creative hubs, have included meeting places and food outlets for over forty years: restaurants, cafés and stores. Since 2014, mk2 has been developing its expertise as a programmer in Spain with a mix of art-house cinema, mainstream movies and cultural events. Together, the mk2 network in France and Spain records over 8.5 million admissions every year.

KEY FIGURES

0
Cinemas
0
Screens
8.5M
million admissions

EDITORIAL POLICY

mk2 cinemas are notable for screening indie and art-house films in the original version with subtitles, which are in constant dialogue with more mainstream movies. A cultural institution, mk2 hosts conferences, debates, history of art lectures and philosophical discussions every week in its cinemas.

mk2 is committed to promoting works and events that will provoke debate and cultural discovery, breaking down the barriers between art forms. At the crossroads of art and culture, mk2 showcases all forms of creation in its cinemas, from short films to documentaries.

2016-2017 SEASON

mk2 schedules innovative filmmaking, exclusive programmes and screenings shaped by topical, cinematographic and literary developments to help visitors to its cinemas understand the complexity of the world around us.

mk2 CINEMAS IN FRANCE SINCE 1974

0
Cinemas
0
Screens
4,6M
admissions every year
0
made-to measure private cinemas
1er
Leading art-house network in France
20%
market share in Paris
0
screenings every year
0
screenings of art-house films included
0
events every year
0
kids attending school screenings
0
bars, restaurants and cafés
0
stores

IN FRANCE

The mk2 network is unique in involving its cinemas in their community (mk2 Nation, mk2 Gambetta) and reinventing the before and after screening (mk2 Bibliothèque, Quai de Seine/Quai de Loire) to create entertainment hubs. From the three screens of mk2 Parnasse to the twenty screens of mk2 Bibliothèque, mk2 offers an alternative in the cinematographic landscape with different programming to reflect each individual area.

MADE-TO-MEASURE CINEMAS

Since 2010, mk2 has provided a new way of screening films: private, made-to-measure cinemas. Designed and built with artists, these cinemas host private or professional events, combining fine food and a passion for film.

Today, the mk2 network has 4 private cinemas in unusual locations: Germain Paradisio (25 seats within a bar-restaurant, in an intimate setting designed by India Madhavi), Miss and Madame Cinema (25 and 60 seats in the Palais de Tokyo) and a 114-seater cinema in the Musée de la Chasse.

OUR STORES

Although the first mk2 cinema had a bookstore in 1974 and the mk2 projectcafé sold DVDs and clothes, shopping in cinemas reached a new level with the launch of our stores in 2010. Boasting an exclusive and innovative product range, the mk2 Bibliothèque and Quai de Loire stores combine pop culture and a love of film. Every week, they offer a unique selection of DVDs, books, gadgets, imported confectionary, jewellery, furniture and high-tech.

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

After operating unique sites in Paris for forty years, mk2 is exporting its programming model and vision of cinema internationally. Since 2014, it has been working to redevelop the urban space at regional level in Spain, which began at local level with mk2 Bastille in 1974. By increasing its programming of independent films and its events offering, introducing the original version with subtitles and creating screenings for schoolchildren and younger viewers, mk2 is drawing on strong local ties to revive cinema in areas where it is threatened.

CINESUR: THE mk2 NETWORK IN SPAIN SINCE 2014

0
Cinemas
0
Screens
3,9M
admissions every year
25%
market share in Andalusia
Top 3
• Top 3 Spanish cinemas: Nervion Plaza (1.1 million admissions every year)
0
screenings every year
x5
the number of original version screenings between 2014 and 2015
0
events annually
0
kids attending school screenings

IN SPAIN

In 2014, mk2 acquired the Cinesur network, one of the largest in Spain. In the midst of the recession, with audiences deserting the cinema, mk2 has emphasized the content and community involvement by tailoring its screening times, staging festivals and hosting conferences of academics and intellectuals. Since its takeover by mk2, Cinesur has regained popularity with its originality and commitment to screening all types of cinema.

Header photo credit: Dance evenings at mk2 Bibliothèque (2015), copyright Damien Combier
Carrousel photo credit (in France, in Spain, made-to-measure, stores): copyright mk2

VIVRE LE CINÉMA AUTREMENT

Avec 25 cinémas à Paris et en Espagne, mk2 est le premier circuit art-et-essai en France et Cinesur le premier réseau d’Andalousie. Pensées comme des lieux de vie, ses salles en France intègrent depuis plus de quarante ans des espaces de rencontre et de consommation : restaurants, cafés, stores. Depuis 2014, mk2 développe en Espagne son savoir-faire de programmateur, qui mêle cinéma d’auteur, films grand public et événements culturels. Le réseau mk2 cinémas en France et en Espagne accueille chaque année plus de 8 millions de spectateurs.

NOS CHIFFRES CLÉS

0
cinémas
0
écrans
8.5M
de spectateurs

LIGNE ÉDITORIALE

Les cinémas mk2 se caractérisent par une programmation de films indépendants en version originale, en dialogue permanent avec des œuvres plus grand public. Institution culturelle, mk2 programme chaque semaine dans ses salles : des conférences, des débats, des cours d’histoire de l’art et de philosophie. mk2 s’engage à programmer des œuvres

et des événements qui susciteront les débats, les découvertes culturelles et qui décloisonnent les univers et les pratiques artistiques. A la croisée des arts et des pratiques culturelles, mk2 s’intéresse à tous les formats de création, qu’elle met à l’honneur dans ses salles, du court-métrage au documentaire.

LA SAISON 2016-2017

mk2 programme dans ses salles des cycles et des séances exclusives qui mettent en perspective l’actualité et le cinéma, pour donner au spectateur les clefs pour comprendre les enjeux du monde qui nous entoure.

LES CINÉMAS mk2 EN FRANCE DEPUIS 1974

0
Cinémas
0
Écrans
4,6M
De spectateurs par an
0
Salles privées sur-mesure
1er
circuit art-et-essai en France
20%
de parts de marché à Paris
0
séances par an
0
séances pour des films art-et-essai
0
événements par an
0
écoliers accueillis dans le cadre de séances scolaires
0
bars, restaurants et cafés
0
stores

EN FRANCE

Le réseau mk2 se distingue à la fois par l’ancrage de ses salles dans leurs quartiers (mk2 Nation, mk2 Gambetta) et sa capacité à faire de ses cinémas des lieux de destination en réinventant l’avant et l’après-séance (mk2 Bibliothèque, Quai de Seine/Quai de Loire). Du mk2 Parnasse avec ses trois écrans, jusqu’aux vingt écrans du mk2 Bibliothèque, mk2 offre une alternative dans le paysage cinématographique qui s’appuie sur la singularité de chaque quartier pour proposer une programmation différente.

NOS SALLES SUR-MESURE

Depuis 2010, mk2 propose une nouvelle forme d’exploitation de salles et de films : la salle de cinéma privée sur-mesure. Conçues et réalisées avec des designers, ces salles accueillent des manifestations professionnelles ou des événements de particuliers, mêlant gastronomie et amour du cinéma.

Le réseau mk2 compte aujourd’hui 4 salles privées, installées dans des lieux atypiques : le Germain Paradisio (25 places au cœur d’un bar-restaurant, dans une salle intime dessinée par India Madhavi), Miss et Madame Cinéma (25 et 60 places dans le Palais de Tokyo) ainsi qu’une salle de 114 places dans le Musée de la Chasse.

NOS STORES

Si le premier cinéma mk2 comptait déjà une librairie en 1974 et que le mk2 projectcafé mêlait vente de DVD et de vêtements, le concept de boutique dans un cinéma prend un nouvel élan avec la création du store en 2010. Forts d’une sélection exclusive, avant-gardiste et originale, les stores mk2 du Bibliothèque et du Quai de Loire marient popculture et cinéphilie. Ils proposent chaque semaine un choix unique de DVD, livres, gadgets, confiserie d’importation, bijoux, mobilier et high-tech.

DÉVELOPPEMENT INTERNATIONAL

Après 40 ans d’exploitation de salles singulières à Paris, mk2 cinémas exporte son modèle de programmation et sa vision du cinéma à l’international. Depuis 2014, mk2 développe en Espagne à une échelle régionale le travail de revalorisation de l’espace urbain entamé en 1974 avec le mk2 Bastille à une échelle locale. En développant sa programmation de films indépendants et son offre d’événements, en introduisant la version originale, en créant des séances pour les scolaires et les plus jeunes, mk2 s’attache à faire revivre le cinéma où il est menacé, en s’appuyant sur un fort ancrage local.

CINESUR : LE RÉSEAU mk2 EN ESPAGNE DEPUIS 2014

0
Cinémas
0
écrans
3,9M
de spectateurs par an
25%
de parts de marché en Andalousie
Top 3
des cinémas espagnols : Nervion Plaza (1.1M de spectateurs par an)
0
séances par an
x5
le nombre de séances en VO entre 2014 et 2015
0
événements par an
0
écoliers accueillis dans le cadre de séances scolaires

EN ESPAGNE

En 2014, mk2 rachète le réseau Cinesur, l’un des principaux réseaux en Espagne. Dans un contexte de crise où les spectateurs désertent les salles de cinéma, mk2 mise sur le contenu et l’implantation locale, en adaptant ses horaires, en accueillant des festivals et des conférences d’universitaires et d’intellectuels. Depuis son rachat par mk2, Cinesur séduit par sa singularité et son engagement dans la diffusion de tous types de cinémas.