Elisha Karmitz

Elisha Karmitz joined mk2 in 2006 as Managing Editor of the free monthly magazine TROISCOULEURS. Since 2008, he has been responsible for the mk2 Group’s communication and diversification operations. Elisha Karmitz is CEO of mk2 agency and mk2 holding.

news_12696_0Elisha Karmitz joined mk2 in 2006 as Managing Editor of the free monthly magazine TROISCOULEURS, for which he oversaw the new editorial policy and visual identity. Initially presenting news from mk2 cinemas, TROISCOULEURS became an independent provider of cinema-, culture- and lifestyle-related content in 2006. TROISCOULEURS moved online, recording several concerts (Mos Def, Wu-Tang, etc.) and producing a documentary on the legendary Motown record company. In 2009, Elisha Karmitz launched a collection of special editions distributed in newsagents. Hedi Slimane was editor-in-chief of the first issue, Contre-Culture, 1950–2010: American Youth. Seven other special editions followed, celebrating major figures and the revival of pop culture: The Doors, Sofia Coppola, Stanley Kubrick (official catalogue of the exhibition staged by the Cinematheque Française in 2011), JR, Game Stories – The Secret History of Videogames (to coincide with the exhibition at the Grand Palais in 2011), the cartoonists Dupuy and Berberian, and On the Road (Jack Kerouac and Walter Salles).

In 2008, Elisha Karmitz became the head of mk2 multimedia and developed the mk2 Group’s communication and diversification operations. In 2012, he launched mk2 agency, which specializes in audiovisual communication, content creation and events management. This new structure makes mk2’s expertise available to brands, which it puts into contact with the big names in cinema, culture and fashion. With mk2 agency, Elisha Karmitz has produced: Catherine Deneuve Rive Gauche, a short film for Le Bon Marché directed by Loïc Prigent, Unpredictable Creativity, two short films directed by Kim Chapiron for Nike, as well as the short films Enfin la fin by Benoît Delépine and Aujourd’hui by Nicolas Saada for Ciné+.

Elisha Karmitz has coproduced a documentary, Piratage, by Etienne Rouillon and Sylvain Bergère (2011), and two feature-length films: Jia Zhang-Ke’s Mountains May Depart (2015), in competition at Cannes Film Festival and winner of Best Screenplay at the Asian Film Awards, as well as Xavier Dolan’s It’s Only the End of the World (2016), which won the Grand Prix in Cannes and the César for Best Director. In 2013, to mark the release of the film Inside Out by the artist JR, Elisha Karmitz and the mk2 teams allowed him to install his photo booth on the square outside mk2 Bibliothèque and create a 1,200 sq m collage on the exterior of France’s National Library.

Cinema Paradiso au Grand Palais (2015), copyright @HLénie
Cinema Paradiso at the Grand Palais (2015), copyright @HLénie

Elisha Karmitz develops outdoor and ephemeral cinema rooms: with mk2 agency, he staged the world’s biggest 3D film screening for LG, showing the animation Rio under the glass roof of Paris’s Grand Palais in 2011, which entered the Guinness World Records. In 2013, he founded the pop-culture festival CINEMA PARADISO, which reinvents the before-during-after cinema session, again at the Grand Palais. Around with the three-part concept mixing food, cinema and music, both Cinema Paradiso events (2013 and 2015) have screened dozens of cult films, from Jurassic Park to The Big Lebowski, to audiences stretched out in bed or snuggled up in a Fiat as well as hundreds of hours of all-night clubbing, bowling lanes, vintage videogames, food stalls and even a gourmet restaurant by the chef Jean Imbert ten metres in the air. The two festivals have been attended by 160,000 people.

mk2 agency has continued its collaboration with Jean Imbert by creating a gourmet cinema club in its made-to-measure cinema hidden within the Palais de Tokyo: Miss Cinema. In both 2015 and 2016, visitors to the 25-seater cinema were able to discover or rediscover a classic film whist enjoying an innovative meal specially prepared by the chef to reflect the storyline.

benoit-florenc%e2%95%a0oon-benoitflorencon-01
mk2 VR in Paris (2016), copyright Benoit Florençon

Following two years of research and development and cooperation with leading studios and market experts, Elisha Karmitz and the mk2 teams have developed the first permanent space entirely devoted to virtual reality at mk2 Bibliothèque: mk2 VR. mk2 VR is a new culture and entertainment concept that hosts  exclusive screenings and previews throughout the year. Staying true to its cinemas’ reputation, mk2 has set high standards for the venue’s programming, which will be eclectic and constantly changing. With drama, animation and documentaries as well as videogames, simulations and immersive experiences, the content is chosen for its quality, emotional punch and thought-provoking themes. “mk2 VR is a platform for entertainment and expression, which is designed to showcase the work of studios and creators of independent content,” says Elisha Karmitz.

 

Photo copyright: Gilles Bassignac/Divergence for JDD (2015)

Elisha Karmitz

Elisha Karmitz rejoint mk2 en 2006, en tant que directeur de la publication et de la rédaction du mensuel gratuit TROISCOULEURS. Depuis 2008, il est en charge des opérations de communication et de diversification du groupe mk2. Elisha Karmitz est directeur général de mk2 agency et directeur général de mk2 holding.

news_12696_0Elisha Karmitz rejoint mk2 en 2006, en tant que directeur de la publication et de la rédaction du mensuel gratuit TROISCOULEURS, dont il supervise la refonte de la ligne éditoriale et de l’identité visuelle. Au départ dédié à l’actualité des salles mk2, TROISCOULEURS devient en 2006 un média indépendant, consacré au cinéma, à la culture et au lifestyle. TROISCOULEURS  se déploie sur le web, en réalisant de nombreuses captations vidéos de concerts (Mos Def, Wu-Tang) et réalise un documentaire sur le légendaire label Motown. En 2009, Elisha Karmitz lance une collection de hors-séries diffusés en kiosques. Le rédacteur en chef du premier numéro, Contre-Culture, 1950-2010 : soixante ans de jeunesse(s) américaine(s), est Hedi Slimane. Suivront sept autres hors-série, consacrés aux grandes figures et au renouveau de la popculture : The Doors, Sofia Coppola, Stanley Kubrick (catalogue officiel de l’exposition que lui consacre la Cinémathèque Française en 2011), JR, Game Stories – L’histoire secrète du jeu vidéo (à l’occasion de l’exposition au Grand Palais en 2011), les dessinateurs Dupuy et Berberian, Sur la Route (Jack Kerouack et Walter Salles).

En 2008, Elisha Karmitz prend la direction de mk2 multimedia et développe les opérations de communication et de diversification du groupe mk2. En 2012, il lance mk2 agency, agence spécialisée dans la communication audiovisuelle, la création de contenus et l’événementiel. Cette nouvelle structure met le savoir-faire de mk2 au service des marques, qu’elle met en relation avec des talents du cinéma, de la culture et de la mode. Elisha Karmitz a ainsi produit avec mk2 agency : Catherine Deneuve Rive Gauche, un court-métrage pour le Bon Marché réalisé par Loïc Prigent, Unpredictable Creativity, deux courts réalisés pour Nike par Kim Chapiron, ainsi que les courts-métrages Enfin la fin de Benoît Delépine et Aujourd’hui de Nicolas Saada pour Ciné+.

Elisha Karmitz a coproduit un documentaire, Piratage, d’Etienne Rouillon et Sylvain Bergère (2011), et deux longs-métrages : Au-delà des Montagnes de Jia Zhang-Ke (2015), en sélection officielle en compétition au Festival de Cannes et récompensé par le prix du scénario au Asian Film Awards, ainsi que Juste la Fin du monde de Xavier Dolan (2016), couronné du Grand Prix au Festival de Cannes et du César du Meilleur Réalisateur en 2017. En 2013, à l’occasion de la sortie du film Inside Out de l’artiste JR, Elisha Karmitz et les équipes de mk2 ont permis à JR d’installer son camion photographie sur le parvis du mk2 Bibliothèque et de réaliser un collage de 1200 mètres carrés sur une façade de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

Cinema Paradiso au Grand Palais (2015), copyright @HLénie
Cinema Paradiso au Grand Palais (2015), copyright @HLénie

Elisha Karmitz développe chez mk2 des projets de cinéma hors-les-murs : avec mk2 agency, il crée en 2011 la plus grande projection 3D au monde pour LG, avec la projection du film d’animation Rio sous la nef du Grand Palais à Paris, une performance entrée au Guinness Book of Records. En 2013, il crée le festival de popculture CINEMA PARADISO, qui réinvente l’avant-pendant-après séance de cinéma au Grand Palais à Paris. Autour du triptyque food-cinéma-musique, Cinema Paradiso a proposé en deux éditions (2013 et 2015) des dizaines de séances de films cultes, de Jurassic Park à The Big Lebowski, à découvrir allongé dans un lit ou logé dans une Fiat, des centaines d’heure de clubbing toute la nuit sous la verrière du Grand Palais, des pistes de bowling, des jeux vidéo vintage, des points de restauration locavores et même un restaurant gastronomique du chef Jean Imbert perché à dix mètres de hauteur. Ce festival à réuni 160 000 personnes en deux éditions.

mk2 agency a poursuivi sa collaboration avec Jean Imbert en créant avec lui un Cinéma Club gastronomique dans la salle sur-mesure du réseau mk2 logée au cœur du Palais de Tokyo : le Miss Cinéma. En 2015 puis en 2016, les spectateurs de cette salle de 25 places ont pu découvrir ou redécouvrir un classique du cinéma en dégustant un repas inédit spécialement créé par le chef pour suivre la trame narrative du film.

benoit-florenc%e2%95%a0oon-benoitflorencon-01
mk2 VR à Paris (2016), copyright : Benoit Florençon

Après deux ans de recherche et développement et d’échange avec les plus grands studios et spécialistes du marché, Elisha Karmitz et les équipes de mk2 ont créé au mk2 Bibliothèque le premier lieu dédié à la réalité virtuelle : mk2 VR. Unique au monde, mk2 VR est un nouveau concept de lieu de culture et de divertissement, rythmé toute l’année par une programmation éclectique fidèle à la signature éditoriale du groupe, des contenus exclusifs et des avant-premières. Fictions, films d’animation, documentaires, jeux vidéo ou encore simulations et expériences immersives, les contenus sont sélectionnés pour leur qualité, les émotions qu’ils procurent et le regard nouveau qu’ils apportent. « mk2 VR est un terrain de jeu et d’expression conçu pour faire honneur au travail des studios et des créateurs de contenus indépendants » précise Elisha Karmitz.

 

Copyright photo header : Gilles Bassignac/Divergence pour le JDD (2015)