Marin Karmitz

“He has had the opportunity to work with Rossellini, Beckett, Kieslowski, Duras, Kiarostami and Godard. What did he do with that opportunity? Make films”
Stéphane Paoli

Marin Karmitz was born on 7 October 1938.
A graduate from the influential IDHEC film school, he was initially assistant director to the filmmakers Jean-Luc Godard, Agnès Varda, Jacques Rozier, Yannick Bellon and Pierre Kast. In 1964, he directed his first short film, Nuit noire Calcutta, based on a screenplay by Marguerite Duras. In 1965, he worked with Samuel Beckett on the adaptation of Comédie. In the same year, the film was selected to open Venice International Film Festival and shocked audiences with its avant-garde material. Forty years later, the film would be recognized at the Venice Biennale and shown in museums around the world. Marin Karmitz’s first feature-length film was Seven Days Somewhere Else with Jacques Higelin in 1967, which was also selected at Venice International Film Festival. After May ’68, he directed two films: Comrades (1970) and Blow for Blow (1972), which would be screened at all the international festivals.

Trois Couleurs : Bleu, Krzysztof Kieslowski (1993)
Three colours : Blue, Krzysztof Kieslowski (1993)

After founding mk2 Productions in 1967, Marin Karmitz launched a distribution company in 1974. In 40 years, Marin Karmitz would produce 108 films and distribute over 350 in theatres: Krzysztof Kieslowski’s trilogy, twelve films by Claude Chabrol, Godard, Resnais, Malle, the Taviani brothers, Angelopoulos, Pintilié, Van Sant, Nossiter, Kerrigan, Loach, Doillon, Lounguine, Kiarostami, Sang Soo, Haneke, Salles, Dolan…
These achievements have rightly been recognized: over 150 awards and nominations at the international festivals, including three Palmes d’Or in Cannes, three Golden Lions in Venice, a Golden Bear in Berlin, three Oscar nominations, twenty-five Césars…
Since 1 May 1974, Marin Karmitz has also developed a cinema operation business, reshaping the role of cinema in the city life. mk2 is now the third largest chain in Paris with 10 complexes and 65 screens, 6 made-to-measure cinemas and one of the biggest networks in Spain with 9 cinemas and 110 screens.

 

Several official events have celebrated Marin Karmitz’s work, including the Cinematheque Française and Georges Pompidou Centre in 1981, New York’s MoMA in 1989, Tel Aviv Cinematheque in 1992, Madrid Cinematheque in 1998, Munich Cinematheque and Strasbourg’s European Film Forum in 1999, the Cairo International Film Festival in 2002 and Bologna Cinematheque in 2003.

Le Vent nous emportera, Abbas Kiarostami (1999)
The Wind will carry us, Abbas Kiarostami (1999)

His career has been recognized by countless awards, including the Prix Georges de Beauregard for Best Producer, the Los Angeles Independent Spirit Award for Best Producer, the Lifetime Achievement Award at Cairo International Film Festival, the Federico Fellini Award at the Europa Cinema Awards, the Taormina Film Fest Award and the European Parliament LUX Prize from Viviane Reding. Marin Karmitz is also Commandeur de la Légion d’Honneur, Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite, Commandeur des Arts et Lettres, Knight’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland and a recipient of Paris City Hall’s Médaille de Vermeil.

Alongside his work, Marin Karmitz has addressed the issues facing the film industry through professional bodies, particularly holding the roles of Chairman of the National Federation of Film Distributors (2001–2006), Chairman of the Cinematographic Industries’ Liaison Office (2002–2003), Chairman of the XI Plan’s Cultural Creation, Competitiveness and Social Cohesion Group in 1992 and member of the New Public Television Commission (Copé Commission) in 2008. The French President, Nicolas Sarkozy, made Marin Karmitz a member of the Council for Artistic Creation between January 2009 and April 2011.

For mk2’s fortieth anniversary in 2014, tributes to Marin Karmitz and the company that he founded were paid around the world, including by New York’s MoMA (5–23 June 2014) and major international cultural institutions such as the Cinematheque Suisse (April 2014), Istanbul Film Festival (5–20 April 2014), Jerusalem Film Festival (10–20 July 2014), the BFI in London (in September 2014) and Sao Paulo International Film Festival (16–29 October 2014).

 

EXHIBITION CURATOR

In 2009: Silences at Strasbourg Modern Art Museum and the Berardo Collection Museum in Lisbon
In 2010: Traverses at Rencontres d’Arles photography festival

PUBLICATIONS

1995 : Bande à part, Grasset
2003 : Profession Producteur, Hachette Littérature
2009 : Silences, Editions des Musées de Strasbourg
2010 : Traverses, Editions Actes Sud
2016 : Comédies, Fayard

 

Photo credit: Benoit Linero for mk2 (2009)

Marin Karmitz

« Il a eu la chance de connaître Rossellini, Beckett, Kieslowski, Duras, Kiarostami, Godard. Qu’a-t-il fait de cette chance ? Des films. »

Stéphane Paoli

Marin Karmitz est né le 7 octobre 1938.
Diplômé de l’IDHEC en tant qu’opérateur, il est d’abord assistant réalisateur des cinéastes Jean-Luc Godard, Agnès Varda, Jacques Rozier, Yannick Bellon, Pierre Kast. Il réalise en 1964 son premier court-métrage de fiction, Nuit noire Calcutta, d’après un scénario de Marguerite Duras. En 1965 il travaille avec Samuel Beckett à l’adaptation de Comédie. Le film est sélectionné la même année en ouverture de la Mostra de Venise et fera scandale pour sa forme avant-gardiste. 40 ans plus tard le film sera primé à la Biennale d’Art de Venise et est aujourd’hui montré dans les musées du monde entier. Le premier long-métrage de Marin Karmitz, en 1967, est Sept jours ailleurs, avec Jacques Higelin, également sélectionné à la Mostra. Après mai ‘68, il réalise deux films : Camarades (1970) et Coup pour coup (1972) qui feront le tour des festivals internationaux.

Trois Couleurs : Bleu, Krzysztof Kieslowski (1993)
Trois Couleurs : Bleu, Krzysztof Kieslowski (1993)

En 1974, Marin Karmitz adjoint à sa propre structure, mk2 Productions, créée en 1967, une structure de distribution. En 40 ans, Marin Karmitz produira 108 films et en distribuera en salles plus de 350 : la trilogie de Krzysztof Kieslowski, douze films de Claude Chabrol, Godard, Resnais, Malle, les frères Taviani, Angelopoulos, Pintilié, Van Sant, Nossiter, Kerrigan, Loach, Doillon, Lounguine, Kiarostami, Sang Soo, Haneke, Salles, Dolan…
Un très beau palmarès a couronné ces productions: plus de 150 prix et nominations dans les festivals internationaux dont trois Palmes d’Or à Cannes, trois Lions d’Or à Venise, un Ours d’Or à Berlin, trois nominations aux Oscars, vingt-cinq Césars…
Depuis le 1er mai 1974, Marin Karmitz a développé aussi une activité d’exploitant de cinéma, menant une réflexion sur le rôle de la salle dans la cité. mk2 est aujourd’hui le troisième circuit à Paris avec 10 complexes et 65 écrans, 6 salles sur mesure, et un des circuits les plus importants d’Espagne, avec 9 cinémas et 110 écrans.

De nombreuses manifestations officielles ont rendu hommage au travail de Marin Karmitz, comme La Cinémathèque Française et le Centre Georges Pompidou en 1981, le MoMA de New York en 1989, la Cinémathèque de Tel Aviv en 1992, la Cinémathèque de Madrid en 1998, la Cinémathèque de Munich et le Forum du Cinéma Européen de Strasbourg en 1999, le Festival du Caire en 2002, ou encore la Cinémathèque de Bologne en 2003.

Le Vent nous emportera, Abbas Kiarostami (1999)
Le Vent nous emportera, Abbas Kiarostami (1999)

Son parcours a été récompensé par de nombreux prix, comme le Prix Georges de Beauregard du Meilleur Producteur, le Prix du Meilleur Producteur Independent Spirit Award à Los Angeles, le Prix à la Carrière au Festival International du Caire, le Prix Federico Fellini lors des Europacinema Awards, le Prix du Festival Taormina, le Prix du Parlement Européen pour le Cinéma, par Viviane Reding. Par ailleurs, Marin Karmitz est Commandeur de la Légion d’Honneur, Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite, Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres, Chevalier du Mérite de la République de Pologne, Médaille de Vermeil de la Ville de Paris.

 

En parallèle de ses activités, Marin Karmitz s’est consacré aux problématiques de l’industrie cinématographique à travers des commissions professionnelles, en occupant notamment les fonctions de Président de la Fédération Nationale des Distributeurs de Films (2001-2006) et de Président du Bureau Liaison Industries Cinématographiques (2002- 2003). Président du groupe Création culturelle, compétitivité, cohésion sociale du XIe Plan en 1992, puis membre de la Commission pour la nouvelle télévision publique (Commission Copé) en 2008, Marin Karmitz a été nommé par le Président de la République, Nicolas Sarkozy, délégué général du Conseil pour la Création Artistique de janvier 2009 à avril 2011.

Pour les 40 ans de mk2 en 2014, de nombreux hommages ont été rendus dans le monde entier à Marin Karmitz et à la société qu’il a fondée: notamment le MOMA à NEW-YORK (5 -23 juin 2014) et de grandes institution culturelles internationales, comme la Cinémathèque Suisse (avril 2014), le Festival d’Istanbul (5-20 avril 2014), le Festival de Jérusalem (10-20 juillet 2014), le BFI à Londres (en septembre 2014), ou encore le Festival de Sao Paulo (16-29 octobre 2014).

 

COMMISSAIRE D’EXPOSITIONS

2009 : Silences au Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Strasbourg, et Musée d’Art moderne et contemporain Berardo, Lisbonne
2010 : Traverses aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles

PUBLICATIONS

1995 : Bande à part, Grasset
2003 : Profession Producteur, Hachette Littérature
2009 : Silences, Editions des Musées de Strasbourg
2010 : Traverses, Editions Actes Sud
2016 : Comédies, Fayard

 

 

Crédit photo header : Benoit Linerot pour mk2 (2009)