Our vision

“Filmmaking is like building. I expect a director to bring the bricks. Not to finish the build, but to carry on building it and for other people to carry on building it.”
Marin Karmitz

SUPPORTING CINEMA THAT CHANGES THE WORLD

mk2 promotes art-house cinema that takes a unique critical view of the world whilst reinventing the filmmaking process. In its theatres, mk2 strives to bring the best of world cinema to the widest possible audience, creating events, lectures and masterclasses in the aim of giving cinemagoers the tools to understand it.

mk2’s editorial policy seeks to move and challenge the audience: making people laugh, cry, dream and think whilst exploring the individual and collective forces that shape the world and so filmmakers’ role in society. These aims are a key point in  making the choice to produce directors such as Abbas Kiarostami and Krzysztof Kieslowski or, more recently, coproduce Jia Zhang-Ke‘s Mountains May Depart, Xavier Dolan‘s It’s Only the End of the World and Pawel Pawlikowsi‘s Cold War .

In everything that it has done since 1974, mk2 has sought to highlight the diversity of world cinema. It was one of the first companies to produce Iranian (Mohsen Makhmalbaf) or Korean (Hong Sang-Soo) directors in France and to engage itself in the promotion of Asian cinema, for example. The films championed by mk2 share the same intelligence and spirit, as shown by the somewhat mystical approach taken by Kieslowski’s Three Colours trilogy or more recently the dialogue between man and nature in Naomi Kawase’s Still the Water and An.

CREATING MODERN CINEMAS THAT CHANGE THE CITY LIFE

To establish a cinema in the community, you first need an urban and architectural vision. mk2 cinemas are forums for stimulation, creative discovery and entertainment. Working with local actors (schools, charities, restaurants, etc.) and moving into deprived areas make our cinemas becoming an essential part of city life.

Designed as community hubs, located in historic buildings (mk2 Quai de Seine in Gustave Eiffel’s warehouses), built by major architects (Jean-Michel Wilmotte created mk2 Bibliothèque in 2003 and Dominique Perrault the four screens at the entrance to the BNF, which were added in 2014) and outfitted with designers (Martin Szekely, Tsé & Tsé) and artists (Martial Raysse, Gérard Fromanger), mk2 cinemas are artistic showcases that disprupt cinemagoers’ expectations.

mk2 also aims to revitalize deprived areas and creativity in the arrondissements overshadowed by Paris’s more coveted areas. As mk2 Quai-de-Seine and mk2 Bibliothèque have proven, the cinemas stimulate activity and renovation in areas under construction, contributing to redevelopment of the urban space.
Adapting the sites’ layout to encourage interaction and using its unique expertise to reinvent the before and after-screening, mk2 becomes a focal point in the community and increases its awareness of art.

Since the bookstore that opened alongside the first mk2 cinema in 1974, mk2 has seen its sites as forums for stimulation and encouraged cinemagoers to make maximum use of the space: bars, cafés, restaurants, food stalls, arts and crafts, and stores selling a selection of cultural and fashionable products, books and DVDs.

Spurred on by mk2 agency, it has created its own pop-culture festival, combining film, food and music. In 2013 and 2015, mk2 twice reinvented the before, during and after-screening under the glass roof of Paris’s Grand Palais, making the audience central to the experience. In putting the fun and festivity back into cinema, Cinema Paradiso is consistent with mk2’s emphasis on stimulation, which it has been developing since 1974.

mk2’s move into southern Spain in 2014, where cinema had been badly affected by the recession, is part of the same process and focus on the added value that art and cinema bring to the city life. Similar to the work undertaken when mk2 Bastille opened in 1974, mk2 gradually adapted its model at regional level and, with thought-provoking programming, attracted audiences back into the cinema.

ENCOURAGING DIALOGUE BETWEEN THE CINEMA AND ALL CREATIVE FIELDS

In its theatres, mk2 works to create bridges between filmmaking and other art forms by programming artistic and cultural events that have never been held in cinemas before and incorporating artworks into its sites.

mk2 cinemas are positioned as forums for stimulation that bring together a wide range of art and creation: exhibitions, debates, concerts, talks, courses, philosophical discussions and activities for young people are all part of a cultural programme shaped by cinematographic and literary developments. Thought with artists and designers to encourage creation, in perpetual motion, mk2 cinemas breaks down the walls between the arts and are characterized by challenging events and programmes that seek to encourage debate and creative discovery.

mk2 has created the concept of “cine-philo”, hosting conferences that use clips from all film genres to explain philosophical concepts. It stages numerous photography exhibitions inside its theaters and outside as well, on its walls. In February 2015, you could discover Jérémie Nassif’s extraordinary Voltige exhibition on the exterior of mk2 Bibliothèque. Few years earlier, it was a giant exhibition by the photographer JR around France’s National Library. A shot of the event is now on display at mk2 Odéon – Saint-Germain.

DESIGN, ART & PHOTOGRAPHY AT mk2

Non-exhaustive panorama

1974
1976
1995
1996
1998
1999
2003
2005
2013
2014
2016

1974

Installation of Rouge, Gérard Fromanger’s historic work in the foyer of mk2 Bastille

Copyright image : mk2

1976

Takeover of Studio Parnasse and replication of the wall painting

Takeover of Studio Parnasse, whose main screen included a wall painting featuring the names of directors that the cinema’s owner had worked with. During renovations to expand from two to three screens, Marin Karmitz replicated the wall painting and added the names of the directors that he had worked with and three quotes: “que l’étranger serve le national”, “que l’ancien serve le nouveau” and “que cent fleurs s’épanouissent”
Copyright image : mk2

1995

Development of mk2 Quai-de-Seine, including dozens of words connected with the history of mk2 and its cinema

Development of mk2 Quai-de-Seine by Frédéric Namur. Before the exterior was tagged, mk2 decided to tag it itself, with words connected with the history of cinema. Marin Karmitz asked Claude Maggiori to choose film quotes, including “tous les oiseaux sont des cons”, and Marin Karmitz added dozens of words connected with the history of mk2 and its cinema: 8 ½, comedy, light, May, equality, resistance, silence, truth, love…
copyright image : mk2

1996

Creation of the mk2 logo by Claude Maggiori

Claude Maggiori, who designed the logo of the Libération newspaper, created the mk2 logo.

1998

The famous cartoonist Lewis Trondheim devised the marketing campaign for the cinemas

On 29 April 1998, 14-Juillet cinemas were renamed mk2.
Copyright image: Lewis Trondheim for mk2

1999

Creation of the mk2 projectcafé, which screened digital art videos

The mk2 projectcafé welcomed Steve McQueen, Matthew Barney and Philippe Parreno.
A laboratory, visitor centre and coffeehouse, it also included a store.

2003

After two years of work, mk2 Bibliothèque, designed by the architect Jean-Michel Wilmotte, opened.

It had been developed with artists and designers from the galleries on Rue Louise Weiss, a hotspot for contemporary art in the early 2000s:

First seat specifically designed for two people: Martin Szekely’s Love Seat™
Lighting by Jacques Bobroff
Piece by Martial Raysse at the exit to the screens
Emmanuelle Mafille‘s stickers on glass at the rear of the cinema
Restaurant’s plates designed by Sonia Rykiel
Store outfitted by Tsé – Tsé

Copyright image : le Loveseat, copyright mk2

2005

Opening of the Quai-de-Loire cinema with neon artwork by Martial Raysse

The neon artwork is entitled Sinéma, les anges sont avec toi
copyright image : mk2

2013

Unique collaboration with the artist JR on a giant exhibition on the square outside mk2 Bibliothèque.

A photograph of the event is now on display at mk2 Odéon – Saint-Germain.
See the video

2014

Completion of Martial Raysse’s neon wall painting, which decorates the BNF entrance to mk2 Bibliothèque

The neon wallpainting is entitled Re-le bain turc
copyright image : mk2

2016

A major exhibition entitled Voltige was staged on the exterior of mk2 Bibliothèque

To mark the release of the book L’instant Expressif on Jérémie Nassif’s photographic work
copyright image : galerie SitDown

SKIP THE TIMELINE

Header photo credit: Juliette Binoche in Abbas Kiarostami’s Certified Copy (2010), copyright Laurent Thurin Nal/mk2
Banner photo credit “Supporting cinema that changes the world”: Journey to the Shore, Kiyoshi Kurosawa (2015), copyright Film Partners Comme des Cinémas
Banner photo credit “Creating modern agoras that change the city life”: mk2 Quai-de-Seine, 2016, copyright mk2
Banner photo credit “Encouraging dialogue between the cinema and all creative fields”: archive concert at mk2 Bibliothèque (2014), copyright PIAS/mk2 agency
Banner photo credit “Design, art and photography at mk2”: exterior of mk2 Quai-de-Loire and Martial Raysse’s work Sinéma, les anges sont avec toi, 2016, copyright mk2

Notre vision

« Le cinéma est une maison en cours de construction. J’attends d’un metteur en scène qu’il apporte des pierres pour compléter la maison. Non pas pour la terminer, mais pour continuer à la construire et que pour d’autres puissent continuer à la construire. »

Marin Karmitz

SOUTENIR UN CINÉMA QUI CHANGE LE MONDE

Maison d’auteurs, mk2 défend un cinéma qui porte un regard critique et singulier sur le monde tout en interrogeant la manière même de faire des films. Dans ses salles, mk2 souhaite amener le meilleur du cinéma mondial à tous les publics, avec l’idée, par la création d’événements, de cours et de masterclass, de donner aux spectateurs les clefs pour le comprendre.

La ligne éditoriale de mk2 a pour objectif de mouvoir et d’émouvoir : faire rire, pleurer, rêver et réfléchir le spectateur, tout en interrogeant les forces individuelles et collectives qui meuvent le monde et, de fait, le rôle du cinéaste dans la société. Ces préoccupations sont à l’œuvre dans le choix de produire des réalisateurs comme Abbas Kiarostami et Krzysztof Kieślowski, ou, plus récemment, en coproduisant Au-delà des Montagnes de Jia Zhang-Ke et Juste la fin du monde de Xavier Dolan.

mk2, dans chacun de ses métiers depuis 1974, s’est attachée à rendre compte de la diversité du paysage cinématographique mondial. Elle est ainsi une des premières sociétés à avoir produit en France des réalisateurs iranien (Mohsen Makhmalbaf) ou coréen (Hong Sang-Soo) et s’est attachée à promouvoir le cinéma asiatique dans le monde, pour ne citer que quelques exemples. Les films portés par mk2 tentent toujours le pari de l’intelligence et de l’esprit, comme en témoignent par exemple l’approche parfois mystique de la trilogie Trois Couleurs de Kieslowski, ou plus récemment le dialogue entre l’homme et la nature dans Still the Water et Les Délices de Tokyo, de Naomi Kawase.

CRÉER DES LIEUX DE VIE QUI CHANGENT LA VILLE

Penser les cinémas dans la ville, c’est d’abord avoir une vision urbanistique et architecturale. Les cinémas mk2 sont des lieux de vie, de découvertes créatives et de consommation. Dans le souci de travailler avec des acteurs locaux (écoles, associations, restaurateurs…) et en s’implantant dans des quartiers populaires, ils deviennent un maillon essentiel de la vie en communauté.

Pensés comme des lieux de lumière ouverts sur la ville, installés dans des bâtiments historiques (le mk2 Quai de Seine dans des entrepôts Gustave Eiffel) ou dessinés par de grands architectes (Jean-Michel Wilmotte a conçu le mk2 Bibliothèque en 2003 et Dominique Perrault les 4 salles de l’entrée bnf, ajoutées en 2014), aménagés avec des designers (Martin Szekely, Tsé Tsé) et des artistes (Martial Raysse, Gérard Fromanger), les cinémas mk2 sont des écrins artistiques qui bouleversent les attentes des spectateurs.

mk2, c’est aussi une volonté de revitaliser les quartiers populaires et la vie créative des arrondissements désertés sous l’égide du rayonnement des plus grands quartiers parisiens. A l’image du mk2 Quai-de-Seine et du mk2 Bibliothèque, les cinémas deviennent le moteur de l’activité et de la réhabilitation de quartiers en déshérence en construction et participent à la revalorisation de l’espace urbain. En adaptant la morphologie de l’espace pour en faire un lieu de rencontre, mk2 devient un acteur de la vie en communauté et de la découverte de l’art et fait œuvre d’un savoir-faire unique pour repenser l’avant et l’après-séance.

Depuis la librairie inaugurée à l’ouverture du premier cinéma mk2 en 1974, mk2 a façonné ses cinémas comme des lieux de vie et multiplié les espaces permettant au spectateur de s’approprier le lieu : bars, cafés, restaurants, foodtrucks, une offre pensée avec des artisans, boutiques proposant une sélection de produits culturels et tendances, librairies et rayons d’achat de DVD.

mk2, sous l’impulsion de son agence de communication mk2 agency, a créé son propre festival de popculture, mêlant cinéma, gastronomie et musique. En deux éditions, en 2013 puis en 2015, mk2 a réinventé l’avant, pendant et après-séance sous la nef du Grand Palais, remettant le spectateur au cœur de l’expérience. En rendant au cinéma sa dimension foraine et festive, Cinema Paradiso incarne la conception du cinéma comme lieu de vie, développée par mk2 depuis 1974.

L’implantation en 2014 de mk2 dans le sud de l’Espagne, où le cinéma avait beaucoup souffert de la crise, procède de ce même mouvement et de l’attention portée à la valeur ajoutée que l’art et le cinéma apportent à la vie en communauté. A l’image du travail effectué au mk2 Bastille à son ouverture en 1974, mk2 adapte peu à peu son modèle à une échelle régionale et, en proposant une programmation exigeante, amène les spectateurs à revenir dans la salle de cinéma.

FAIRE DIALOGUER LE CINÉMA AVEC TOUS LES DOMAINES CRÉATIFS

Dans ses salles, mk2 s’attache à créer des passerelles entre le cinéma et ces autres formes d’art, à travers une programmation d’événements artistiques et culturels unique au monde dans une salle de cinéma et en intégrant des œuvres dans ses salles.

Les cinémas mk2 se présentent comme des lieux de vie réunissant une pluralité de formes artistiques et de création : expositions, débats, concerts, cours d’histoire de l’art, conférences philosophiques, activités pour les plus jeunes se succèdent au rythme d’une programmation culturelle en corrélation avec l’actualité cinématographique et littéraire. Aménagés avec des artistes et des designers et conçus comme des lieux où la création est encouragée, toujours en mouvement, les cinémas mk2 se caractérisent par un bouillonnement événementiel et une programmation qui cherche à susciter les débats, les découvertes créatives et à décloisonner les univers et les pratiques artistiques.

mk2 a ainsi créé le concept de ciné-philo avec Ollivier Pourriol, qui propose des conférences s’appuyant sur des extraits de films de tous genres pour mettre en perspective des concepts philosophiques. Accueillant de nombreuses expositions photographiques dans ses salles et sur ses murs, comme l’exposition hors-normes de « Voltige » de Jérémie Nassif sur les façades du mk2 Bibliothèque en février 2015, mk2 a notamment organisé une exposition géante du photographe JR autour de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Une photographie de cette opération est aujourd’hui exposée au mk2 Odéon – côté Saint-Germain.

LE DESIGN, L'ART ET LA PHOTO CHEZ mk2

Panorama non exhaustif

1974
1976
1995
1996
1998
1999
2003
2005
2013
2014
2016
1974

1974

Installation de « Rouge », l’œuvre historique de Gérard Fromanger dans le hall du mk2 Bastille

Copyright image : mk2

1976

1976

Rachat du Studio Parnasse et préservation de sa fresque de noms du cinéma

Rachat du Studio Parnasse, dont la salle principale intègre une fresque de noms de réalisateurs avec lesquels avait travaillé le propriétaire du cinéma. Lors de sa rénovation, Marin Karmitz fait reproduire cette fresque et y ajoute des noms des réalisateurs et 3 citations : « que l’étranger serve le national », « que l’ancien serve le nouveau », « que cent fleurs s’épanouissent ».
Copyright image : mk2

1995

1995

Aménagement du mk2 Quai-de-Seine avec des dizaines de mots, en lien avec l’univers de mk2 et du cinéma

Aménagement du mk2 Quai-de-Seine par Frédéric Namur. Avant que la façade ne soit taguée, mk2 décide de la taguer elle-même, avec des mots en lien avec l’histoire du cinéma. Marin Karmitz demande à Claude Maggiori de choisir des citations de films, parmi laquelle « tous les oiseaux sont des cons », et Marin Karmitz y ajoute des dizaines de mots, en lien avec l’univers de mk2 et du cinéma : 8 ½, comédie, lumière, mai, égalité, résistance, silence, vérité, amour…
copyright image : mk2

1998

1996

Claude Maggiori crée le logo mk2

Claude Maggiori avait déjà dessiné le logo du journal Libération.
Marin Karmitz unifie toutes ses activités sous le nom mk2 en 1998.

1999

1998

Le célèbre dessinateur Lewis Trondheim dessine la campagne de communication des cinémas

A l’occasion de l’unification des activités de mk2 en 1998, les cinémas « 14-juillet » sont devenus « mk2 ».
Copyright illustration : Lewis Trondheim pour mk2

1999

Création du mk2 projectcafé, dédié à la projection de vidéos d’art numérique

Le mk2 projectcafé accueille Steve McQueen, Matthew Barney, ou encore Philippe Parreno.
A la fois laboratoire, lieu de passage et de consommation, il intégrait aussi une boutique.

2003

2003

Après deux ans de travaux, le mk2 Bibliothèque, dessiné par l’architecte Jean-Michel Wilmotte, sort de terre.

Il a été aménagé avec de nombreux artistes et designers, des galeries de la rue Louise Weiss, haut lieu de l’art contemporain au début des années 2000 :

Création du 1er fauteuil entièrement pensé pour deux personnes : Le Love Seat™, dessiné par Martin Szekely
Eclairage conçu par Jacques Bobroff
Œuvre de Martial Raysse en sortie de salles
Autocollants sur verre d’Emmanuelle Mafille sur la façade arrière du cinéma
Sonia Rykiel dessine les assiettes du restaurant
Tsé Tsé aménage la boutique.
Copyright image : le Loveseat, copyright mk2

2005

2005

Ouverture du cinéma Quai-de-Loire dans un bâtiment Gustave Eiffel avec une œuvre en néon de Martial Raysse

L’oeuvre est intitulée « Sinéma, les anges sont avec toi ».
copyright image : mk2

2014

2013

Collaboration inédite avec l’artiste JR, pour une exposition géante sur le parvis du mk2 Bibliothèque

Une photo de cette opération est exposée au mk2 Odéon – côté Saint-Germain.
Découvrir la vidéo de l’opération

2013

2014

Réalisation par Martial Raysse de la fresque néon qui habille la nouvelle salle entrée BNF du mk2 Bibliothèque

L’oeuvre est intitulée « Re-le bain turc ».
copyright image : mk2

2016

2016

Une exposition monumentale, intitulée « Voltige », prend place sur les façades extérieures du mk2 Bibliothèque

A l’occasion de la sortie du livre L’instant Expressif, consacré au travail photographique de Jérémie Nassif.
copyright image : galerie SitDown

PASSER L’HISTORIQUE

 

 

Crédit photo header : Juliette Binoche, dans Copie Conforme d’Abbas Kiarostami (2010), copyright Laurent Thurin Nal/mk2
Crédit photo bandeau « soutenir un cinéma qui change le monde » : Vers l’autre rive, Kiyoshi Kurosawa (2015), copyright Film Partners Comme des Cinémas
Crédit photo bandeau « créer des lieux de vie qui changent la ville » : mk2 Quai-de-Seine, 2016, copyright mk2
Crédit photo bandeau « Faire dialoguer le cinéma avec tous les domaines créatifs » : Concert d’Archive au mk2 Bibliothèque (2014), copyright PIAS/mk2 agency
Crédit photo bandeau « Le design, l’art et la photo chez mk2 » : façade du mk2 Quai-de-Loire et oeuvre de Martial Raysse « Sinéma les anges sont avec toi », 2016, copyright mk2